Underage Drinking in Arizona

Whether in college or in high school, a criminal conviction for an alcohol-related crime can have a lasting impact on your life. The legal drinking age in Arizona is 21, and any individual who is under that age can face serious consequences if convicted for a crime involving alcohol. Most importantly, a conviction will give you a criminal record, which can impact your ability to get a job, into college or into certain graduate programs.

At The Baker Law Firm, our defense attorneys know the effect a criminal charge today can have on your life tomorrow. We will work diligently to protect your future inside and outside of the courtroom.

Whether you have been arrested or your child has been arrested for underage drinking in Arizona, we are here to help you. Contact our law firm online or call us at 602-842-0359 to set up an appointment.

Types of Alcohol-Related Crimes in Arizona

There are a variety of alcohol-related crimes an underage individual can be charged with in Arizona. This includes:

  • Minor in possession of alcohol: Merely possessing alcohol is a criminal offense in Arizona for those who are under the age of 21. This is a class 1 misdemeanor and could result in up to $2,500 in fines and up to six months in jail.
  • Underage consumption: It is illegal for an individual under the age of 21 to consume alcohol, with the exception of alcohol consumed for religious or medicinal purposes. With conviction for consumption of alcohol, also known as minor in consumption (MIC) of alcohol, you could lose your license for up to 180 days. This is also a class 1 misdemeanor, which means you could face up to $2,500 in fines and up to six months in jail.
  • Drunk driving: Arizona has a zero tolerance policy for underage drinkers. If you are arrested with any amount of alcohol in your system while driving, you can be charged with driving under the influence (DUI). You do not need to have .08 BAC or more. The penalties you face will depend on a number of factors, including your criminal record, your BAC, whether anyone was injured and other factors.
  • Fake ID: If convicted of possession of false identification, also known as a fake ID, you can lose your real license for up to six months. The penalties you face will depend on the circumstances in which the fake ID is used. When you speak with an attorney at our firm, we can explain the charges, the penalties you face and your options.

Protect Your Future by Working With an Attorney

An experienced defense lawyer can help you protect your rights and avoid potential penalties. In some cases, especially those involving first-time offenders, we may be able to get the charges dismissed or the penalties significantly reduced. Learn more about your options by talking to an attorney at The Baker Law Firm in Phoenix. Call us at 602-842-0359 or contact us online to set up an appointment with a lawyer at our firm.

  • State Bar Of Arizona
  • Lead Counsel LC | Rated
  • ABA Defending Liberty Pursuing Justice
  • BBB Accredited Business
  • United State District Court | District Of Arizona
  • Avvo Clients' Choice 2015-2016 Criminal Defense