602-889-6901

Different drunk driving charges in Arizona

If you are like many Arizona residents, you may consume an alcoholic beverage at social occasions now and then. You may also drive home after doing so because you believe you are safely able to do so and you would be below the legal threshold for intoxication if you were to be tested. While that may well be true, you should know that you do not actually have to test at or above a certain level in order to be arrested for or convicted of a DUI offense in Arizona.

According to the Arizona Governor's Office of Highway Safety, if you are found to have any level of alcohol or drug that may impair you while you are driving, you could be charged with being impaired to the slightest degree and driving while under the influence, a misdemeanor charge. While a blood alcohol content of 0.08 percent is the point at which you can be found legally over the limit, you can face criminal charges with a lower BAC.

On the other end of the spectrum, if you are found to have a BAC level that is sufficiently higher than 0.08 percent, you may face harsher charges. At 0.15 percent you could be charged with an extreme DUI and at 0.20 percent you could be charged with a super extreme DUI. These are also misdemeanors if they are charged as your first or second offense with no other factors in play like driving with a suspended license or violating an ignition interlock device order.

If you would like to learn more about the different types of DUI offenses in Arizona, please feel free to visit the impaired operation charges page of our criminal defense website.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information