Reckless Driving / Criminal Speeding

Defense for Serious Traffic Offenses in Arizona

If the police allege that your driving has put other persons or property at risk, you may be charged with reckless driving. Reckless driving and criminal speeding are taken very seriously in the state of Arizona and are not as ordinary traffic offenses, but as misdemeanors. Penalties can include up to six months in jail, a year of probation and a significant impact on your driving privileges. These charges deserve experienced criminal defense to preserve your rights.

At The Baker Law Firm in Phoenix, Arizona, our experienced lawyers provide skilled and knowledgeable representation for charges of reckless driving and excessive speeding. Our attorneys understand how the consequences that clients face will often last well beyond the courtroom.

Contact us if you have been charged with reckless driving or criminal speeding in Arizona. Get the representation you deserve by calling our Phoenix office at 602-889-6901 and making an appointment for an initial consultation.

Reckless Driving and Criminal Speeding Charges

Reckless driving is a fairly common charge in the state of Arizona and only requires that the driver is putting people at risk through negligent actions behind the wheel. Criminal speeding in Arizona is defined as going 20 miles per hour over the speed limit, or going 85 mph or more regardless of the speed limit.

In many of these cases, the only evidence of reckless driving or criminal speeding is the statement from the officer. Our goal in cases of reckless driving and criminal speeding is to get charges dismissed or reduced to civil traffic tickets that have less serious consequences.

Frequently Asked Questions

  • Can I lose my license for reckless driving in Arizona? It is possible to lose your license for a reckless driving conviction. For a first offense, you could lose driving privileges for up to 90 days. License suspension time increases exponentially for repeat convictions.
  • What will happen if I am convicted of a second reckless driving charge? A second reckless driving conviction within two years of your first conviction is a class 1 misdemeanor. You will likely lose your license and will serve no less than 20 days in jail.
  • How many traffic violation points will I receive for reckless driving in Arizona? For speeding? You will receive eight points for conviction of a reckless driving charge and three points for speeding.

Contact Our Phoenix Law Firm Today

To talk with an experienced attorney about your criminal speeding or reckless driving charges in Arizona, contact The Baker Law Firm. Schedule an initial consultation to discuss your options and the potential consequences of your offense. Call our Phoenix office at 602-889-6901 .