When a person in Arizona is arrested and officially charged with a crime, the outlook may initially look very bleak. It is at this time that defendants must find a way to remember that they too have rights and one of those rights is to a proper criminal defense. Simply being arrested does not mean that a person is guilty nor does it mean that the person will be found guilty by a judge or a jury.
Arizona residents who are charged with not one but with multiple crimes may understandably feel afraid that they have few options. However, it should always be remembered that everyone has the right to a solid defense and that the eventual outcomes may not be as bad as what an original set of charges might indicate. An example of this can be seen in a recent case in Coconino County.
Every state has a registration program for people convicted of sexually related offenses. In Arizona, there are several different crimes that may require a person to participate in this program. As explained by the Arizona Department of Public Safety, sexual assault is one of these. Sexual abuse or sexual conduct with an alleged victim who is 17 years of age or younger may also lead to the need to register as a sexual offender. Any non-parent of an alleged kidnapping or imprisonment victim under 18 years of age may also be required to register.
People who have been charged with serious crimes or know someone who has may not always understand how the criminal justice system works. In learning the process, it is important for defendants to keep in mind that public news reports may not always reflect the full details of a case. Despite stories that might make a person seem guilty before any trial has ever commenced, people are owed the opportunity to defend themselves no matter what the situation. A man recently arrested in Phoenix may need to be reminded of this fact while he navigates the legal system.
People who have been arrested for and accused of serious crimes such as rape, murder or kidnapping in Arizona may feel very concerned about what could happen to them. The criminal defense process can be complicated and confusing yet it is always important for defendants to remember that the law does guarantee them some rights. Among these rights is the importance of ensuring that someone is actually fit to stand trial.
A criminal charge and conviction in Phoenix can come with several consequences. These consequences include having to pay bail, facing a possible prison sentence, being ordered to pay restitution and court fines, and having one’s face plastered on local media stations. It can be even more damaging to a person’s situation if the person was observed near the crime scene or in possession of items connecting him or her to the crime.
When someone in Arizona is hurt by another, the person who causes the injury may or may not be guilty of assault. The key to the description of assault in the Arizona State Legislature is that any harm or threat of harm is done on purpose, or else it is caused by an action that is careless and dangerous. The charge is increased to aggravated assault when there is any one of many additional circumstances involved in the action.
According to the Arizona Department of Public Safety, there were more than 23,900 violent crimes reported across the state in 2014 alone. Of these, aggravated assault had the largest incidence rate. This offense occurs when a person unlawfully attacks another with the intent of inflicting seriously injuring him or her. Aggravated assault is a serious offense, and the penalties one might face if convicted of this charge may be enhanced if he or she uses a weapon, such as a firearm.
As was discussed in previous posts, there are a number of situations that might result in Maricopa County residents facing murder charges. The second installment of this two-part series will discuss the circumstances for which you might be charged with first-degree murder. Additionally, it will explain the penalties you could face if convicted of this offense.
As was discussed in a previous post, there are numerous situations that might lead to Arizonans being charged with murder. In the state of Arizona, there are two classifications of murder charges – second-degree murder and first-degree murder. While the differences in the definitions of these offenses may seem slight, the disparities in their potential penalties are significant. The first post in this two part series will discuss second-degree murder charges, and the consequences people might face if convicted of this offense.